‘The Fault In Our Stars’

'The Fault In Our Stars' John GreenI just finished reading “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green.

Obviously, I’m a little late to the start for this one. I mean, c’mon, it’s already been made into a movie! It’s been on my “to read” list for a long time, but I finally did read it. And I read it entirely in one day.

Now that’s not hard for me. I read lots of books in one day. I just tend to not do anything else. This book accompanied me on my metro ride across D.C. tonight, then my entire evening when I got back.

This is the first John Green book that I’ve read. I was planning on reading several last summer, but my library inconveniently never had them. But I just finished TFIOS, and I’m still quite emotional.

John Green (as far as I can tell from this one book) is a brilliant writer. It’s real. It’s compelling. It’s life. Now, I have never had cancer, and I hope I never will, but it was still so easy to relate to Hazel in this book.

TFIOS follows Hazel’s story. And it’s not just a book that shows her good days. It shows her good days, bad days, mediocre days and all the days in between. Hazel meets a boy at Support Group. Augustus Waters and Hazel get along well, share a book and it’s obvious that they will fall for each other.

What’s not quite so obvious is that John Green will rip your heart out and crush it. And then make you laugh. Seriously, the emotions this book elicits are powerful.

While toying with your emotions, John Green explores life through the stories of these kids with cancer. These kids look at their lives and see how short time is. And they understand better than most others (and definitely healthy people) that life is short. I won’t even pretend to understand the struggles they’re going through since I haven’t been through anything even close to what Hazel and Augustus go through.

But there were times throughout the book where Hazel and Augustus were talking about life in such a profound way that it made me just stop and think. These two terminally ill kids had such a different way at looking at life. It was normal to them. But it’s not normal to me. I don’t have to live with the weakness and oxygen deficiency problems that Hazel does. But she lives with those day in and day out. Yes, she has people who are supporting her. But she’s the one actually living with the cancer. The hope shown throughout this book is powerful. If someone like Hazel, who is very sick with cancer, can have that kind of hope, why not the rest of us?

And through all of this, there are the quotes that have made their way around Tumblr and all other social mediums. The classic quotes like “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” I knew this quote for months before I read this book. And guess what? It’s even more powerful and profound in context.

I know this is disjointed, but I still haven’t wrapped my mind completely around this book. I also don’t want to spoil any of this moving story for you. But seriously, I highly recommend reading “The Fault In Our Stars.” You won’t regret it.

Okay?

Okay.

Leave a Reply

