Marvel’s ‘Agent Carter’ and ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’

I love Marvel movies. The first one I saw was “Thor” a couple years ago on campus (and surprisingly, I didn’t really like it the first time I saw it). But I watched it again and fell in love with the Marvel movies (not Thor himself, fyi).

Why?

They’re action movies. They’re adventure. They’re sci-fi, in a way. They have elements that are similar to fantasy movies that I love. And they have interesting, well-rounded characters.

I guess you could say I’m a sucker for good characters. I’ve watched some pretty terrible shows (or movies) just because the character development was good. I love the character development in BBC’s “Merlin,” even though the plots can be terrible. I continued watching “Supernatural” even though the show freaked me out because of Sam and Dean’s characters (but I quit the show since – and not because of character reasons).

Back to Marvel.

When I saw that Marvel created its TV series “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.,” I was intrigued. But I didn’t watch it until the first season was put on Netflix. It took me a couple episodes to get hooked (long enough to get to know the characters). Yep, I got hooked.

The premise of the show is simple enough: SHIELD assembled a mobile team composed of some of their best agents. These agents would travel across the country (and sometimes the world) to investigate various reports of interesting events (read probably alien- or powers-related) or combat enemies.

But what makes this show amazing are the characters. They all come from such diverse backgrounds and experiences that putting them all together in one plane shows the occasional tension. But they’re ultimately a team and so have each others’ backs.

And “Agent Carter” was the same. I loved Hayley Atwell as Peggy Carter in the Captain America movies, so I was excited that she got her own show, albeit for a short season. And it didn’t disappoint.

“Agent Carter” takes its viewers on an exciting ride through Agent Peggy Carter’s adventures with the SSR (Strategic Scientific Reserve). The show is set soon after WWII, and Peggy’s dealing with being marginalized at work because the war’s over and all the men are back.

Even though she’s treated basically as a secretary with the title of “Agent,” Peggy stays strong. The SSR starts going after Howard Stark, but Peggy isn’t willing to jump on the bandwagon. She starts her own investigation but has to hide it from her colleagues.

The first season of “Agent Carter” finished Feb. 24. A second season hasn’t officially been announced yet, but I’m hoping for one!

Have you watched either of these shows? What are your thoughts about them?

Note (Mar 31): I love all the Marvel movies I’ve seen, including Thor. The statement above about not “loving Thor, fyi” is a comment on how I love the movies for more than the leading male characters. 

One thought on “Marvel’s ‘Agent Carter’ and ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’

Leave a Reply

