‘Wicked’

The first time I saw “Wicked” was about a year and a half ago on Broadway while on a family vacation. And boy, did I fall in love with the show. I’ve consistently listened to the soundtrack since then, and I was so excited when I heard that “Wicked” was coming to Dayton, with opening night being last night.

I was able to go see the show last night with two of my dear friends, neither of whom had seen the show before. And that made the experience even more exciting and special. Seeing the show was kinda a last hurrah of the semester for all of us and a celebration of graduation for two of us.

We were in the upper balcony for the show (cheapest seats because college students). Even though we were farther away, it was still a great show.

Dancing through life just a couple of days away from graduation with friends! #senioryear

A photo posted by Lauren Eissler (@l_eissler) on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:03pm PDT

I loved the performance last night, even though the Carrie St. Louis (Galinda) overdid it in a couple of scenes. “Popular” is one of my favorite songs, but Galinda was so over-the-top during it, that it was hard to take her seriously at times for the rest of the musical and made her change at the end less believable. St. Louis was also moving about so much (leaping across the stage?) that she wasn’t on pitch. Though St. Louis seemed to be a caricature of Galinda at times, it was still an enjoyable performance.

Alyssa Fox was fabulous as Elphaba. She brought a little of her own flair to Elphaba, while still staying true to the character. “Defying Gravity” was as powerful as I expected it to be, and I also loved “No Good Deed Goes Unpunished.”

“For Good” was especially moving for me last night because soon I’m saying goodbye to some of my good college friends, and I don’t know when I’ll see them again.

All in all, it was a great show. I don’t know when I’ll get to see “Wicked” next, but I’m looking forward to it!

Have you seen “Wicked” (on- or off-Broadway)? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

