Goodreads Challenge Update: July Edition

Guys, my reading challenge is going so well this year! Well, at least my Goodreads challenge is in excellent standing. I keep forgetting about the PopSugar challenge I had talked about….but I might still be able to finish that by year’s end! In June, I read read four books, bringing my grand total to 37 books. I didn’t set any reading goals for July, but it was a great reading month – I read seven books!

“City of Ashes” by Cassandra Clare

“City of Ashes” is the second book in the Mortal Instruments series. I wasn’t thrilled by the book, and I didn’t even really like it. If you’re curious why, check out my review on Goodreads.

“City of Glass” by Cassandra Clare

After rating the first two books only two stars each, I didn’t have high hopes for the third. Why was I still reading it? I’ve heard that the Infernal Devices series is amazing and that I need to read the Mortal Instruments series first.

“City of Glass” surprised me – one of my least favorite elements of the book was finally removed, so I gave it three stars. It’s still not my favorite book ever, but the series finally moved from “didn’t really like it” to “liked it.”

a-thousand-pieces-of-you-claudia-gray“A Thousand Pieces of You” by Claudia Gray

I listened to this book as an audiobook, and it was brilliant. Claudia Gray crafted a beautiful story, and Tavia Gilbert brought it to life. I wrote about “A Thousand Pieces of You” a couple weeks ago here on my blog – check out my review!

“Content Strategy for the Web” by Kristina Halvorson

Now, this might seem like a bit of an odd read. This was one of my college textbooks that I decided deserved another read. I was working on some content strategy for a blog at work, for this blog, and also for the vlog/channel I recently started.

If you want a thorough explanation of what content strategy is and what it isn’t, as well as practical tips and instructions for how to actually do it, then this is a great read!

dawn-of-wonder“Dawn of Wonder” by Jonathan Renshaw

I don’t remember how I found this book. I think it showed up in my Audible suggestions, and it looked intriguing. About 30 hours later (well, 30 hours spread across many days), I finally finished the audiobook and instantly looked for the sequel (spoiler: it’s not out yet). I was surprised to see that “Dawn of Wonder” was a self-published book. Renshaw did a good job with is worldbuilding, even though there seemed to some extraneous details at times. Check out my full review!

“Ten Thousand Skies Above You” by Claudia Gray

“Ten Thousand Skies Above You” is the sequel to “A Thousand Pieces of You”– part of Claudia Gray’s Firebird series. I listened to this on a roadtrip, and it was the perfect companion. Though a little frustrating at times and yelling-at-my-car inducing, definitely give it a read (or listen!). Curious? Check out my full review!

“George Washington’s Secret Six” by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaeger

This last book is one I’ve slowly been reading over the past several months. I keep on reading some, then putting it down to read some other books, then picking it up again. I finally finished it, and it sheds a lot of light on the Culper spy ring that operated in/around New York City during the Revolutionary War. I knew a little bit about the spy ring from history classes and “Turn,” but I was fascinated by the full story. If you love learning about either the Revolutionary War or historical spies, this is a must-read.

What did y’all read in July? Or have you read any of these books? If so, let me know what you thought!

Leave a Reply

