REVIEW: The “WondLa” Series by Tony DiTerlizzi

Back in August, I set what seemed like an ambitious TBR (to be read) pile for the month. Not only did I finish it, but I also added another book!

For some reason, I decided to put only the first two books of Tony DiTerlizzi’s series on my pile: “The Search for WondLa” and “A Hero for WondLa.”  Let’s just say that I couldn’t stop after those two – I had to know what happened. So I added the third book, “The Battle for WondLa,” to my pile.

I loved the storyline throughout the WondLa series, and I was fascinated by the illustrations. Tony DiTerlizzi illustrated the books himself, and they’re gorgeous.

A bit about the series:

Eva Nine is a young girl who’s spent her entire life underground in her Sanctuary with a robot named Muthr as the only family she’s ever known. She dreams of going aboveground …and that suddenly happens as everything she knows changes (as is apt to happen in books).

Eva finds herself outside, without a clue about the outside world. She has a lot to learn, and she needs to learn it fast as she’s searching for the other humans.

Now, that’s the premise the first book starts with, and that’s all I’ll tell you plot-wise because I don’t want to spoil this series for you! Just know that this book captured me, and I had a hard time putting it down. The storyline flowed from book to book, and I didn’t want to leave Eva and her adventures.

I loved the characters and relationships that Tony DiTerlizzi created. Eva and Muthr, the relationship between humans and non-humans (be they robots or “aliens”). I was fascinated by the interactions between the species, seeing their perspectives and goals.

If you’re looking for a middle-grade fantasy adventure that’s beautifully illustrated and a joy to read, I’d highly recommend picking up Tony DiTerlizzi’s “WondLa” series. You won’t regret it.

 

Leave a Reply

