Introducing… #laurenlettersmay!

For a while I had decided that since I “couldn’t” draw or do art in “typical” forms, I wasn’t good at art. Granted, I never practiced since I decided that I couldn’t do it.

And then several months ago, I kept on seeing lettering pop up on social media. And I was intrigued. It was so pretty! But my first thought was “Nah. I can’t do that.”

Then one day, I just tried it. I was pretty happy with how it turned out. But more importantly, IΒ discovered that I enjoyed doing it. After that, I kept it up on occasion. I wasn’t consistently lettering…but the frequency was picking up.

Even then, I was keeping everything I was doing essentially to myself. I would bring some into work and show my coworkers on occasion, but that was it. I was too nervous to put anything on my social media, especially Instagram. I follow some really talented illustrators (apparently lettering is a form of illustration?), and that psyched me out.

But then I realized that I didn’t have to be comparing myself to what they were all doing. They all started sometime, also. The first pieces they did most likely weren’t at the same quality as the work they’re doing now. And what did they do? Practice. And I need to do the same.

So, that’s why I’ve decided that I’m going to be lettering a pieceΒ every day in May and posting it on my Instagram with the hashtag #laurenlettersmay. Some pieces are going to be more involved than others, but this will be getting me into the groove of practicing every day and putting my work out there. I’m currently a day behind on posting, so it looks like I’ll actually be posting May 2 through June 1…but the important part is that I’m practicing every day, not the exact start and end dates.

I hope you’ll pop by and check out what I’m doing! Leave comments on what you like, and feel free to suggest quotes/projects either here or on my IG. I’m excited for what this adventure’s gonna bring!

Leave a Reply

