REVIEW: Pride & Prejudice …. and Zombies?

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.” – Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

I’m normally not one for the undead, but a couple of my friends talked me into watching this. They promised that it wasn’t super-creepy undead, but rather entertaining undead. And I caved.

So, what did I think?

Overall response: “What the heck did I just watch?”

But I was surprised at how much I liked it. I wasn’t freaked out by the zombies. I managed to predict a pretty major plot twist (yes, one that differed from the books). And I appreciated the characterization and casting (looking at you, Matt Smith).

Things that I greatly appreciated about this adaptation (in no particular order):

  1. The Bennet sisters are all trained to fight zombies.

    In this zombie-fied society, all of the members of the upper classes are sent to be trained in either China or Japan. The Bennet sisters were all trained in China, and they’re the best fighters in Hertfordshire.

  2.  The circumstances where Darcy started noticing Lizzie differently

    Yeah, it was still after the first ball. But this ball was invaded by zombies, and the fully-armed Bennet sisters neatly dispatched them all. Cue Darcy going all weak-kneed at the sight of Lizzie skillfully dispatching the undead.

  3. Mr. Collins

    He’s played by Matt Smith. ‘Nuff said.

  4. Darcy’s first proposal to Lizzie

    In the original Pride & Prejudice, Lizzie’s pretty outraged at his proposal because of his meddling with Jane and Bingley and gives him a thorough verbal dressing down. In this version, Lizzie doesn’t stop with words. They have a full-out fight and essentially destroy the parlor.

  5.  Lady Catherine de Bourgh

    Yes, she still confronts Lizzie about Darcy. But in this version, Lady Catherine also afterward takes the entire Bennet family to Rosings to protect them because it’s the safest place for them to be for the upcoming zombie attack.

All in all, it was an entertaining movie. I’ll probably watch it again, but it’s not at the top of my “must watch all the time” list of movies. I know that the movie’s based off of the book of the same title, so I might pick up the book someday! And I hear that there’s also a sequel to the book…

Have you watched Pride and Prejudice and Zombies or read the book? If so, what did you think? 

Leave a Reply

