2017 Goodreads Reading Challenge Update: May

2017 Reading Challenge Update: May Edition

In 2016, I decided that I wanted to read 52 books (1 per week). I read 73.

So, when planning my reading challenge goals for 2017, I decided to take it up a notch with a goal of 75 books. But I gave myself a smidge of a break – this year, re-reads are counting for my books-read total.

I’m not fully sure why I decided on 75 other than it was only two more than I read last year, and it’s a nice round number. But I failed to take into account that I was scheduled to take 6 credits across the spring semester. And work full time. And attempt to have a social life?

2017 hasn’t been going so hot reading-totals-wise. I’ve read 21 of 75 books, and Goodreads is informing me that I’m 8 books behind schedule. And as of writing this, I have 220 days and 5 hours left to finish the challenge. But I’m catching up. I’ve read more in the past couple weeks since the semester ended than I have in a long time. Let’s look at what I’ve been reading this year!

  1. Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice, by Jane Austen, Adaptation by Stacy King, Art by Po Tse
  2. The Heroes of Olympus: The Son of Neptune, by Rick Riordan
  3. The Heroes of Olympus: The Mark of Athena, by Rick Riordan
  4. The Heroes of Olympus: The Lost Hero, by Rick Riordan
  5. Vassa in the Night, by Sarah Porter
  6. The Red Pyramid, by Rick Riordan
  7. It’s What I Do: A Photographer’s Life of Love and War, by Lynsey Addario
  8. Ever the Hunted, by Erin Summerill
  9. The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon
  10. Present over Perfect, by Shauna Niequist
  11. Stalking Jack the Ripper, by Kerri Maniscalco
  12. The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle, by Rick Riordan
  13. The Kane Chronicles: Throne of Fire, by Rick Riordan
  14. The Kane Chronicles: The Serpent’s Shadow, by Rick Riordan
  15. The Trials of Apollo: The Dark Prophecy (x2), by Rick Riordan
  16. A Thousand Pieces of You, by Claudia Gray
  17. Ten Thousand Skies Above You, by Claudia Gray
  18. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, by J.K. Rowling
  19. Defy the Stars, by Claudia Gray
  20. The Magicians, by Lev Grossman

Yeah, this looks like 20 books. But take note that I’ve read #15 (The Dark Prophecy) twice. And if you’re thinking, “Didn’t that come out recently?,” you’re totally right. I got the audiobook version, and I have listened to it twice already.

And you may also be noticing a Rick Riordan theme (count so far this year: 9 books). I love his books! With classes and everything going on across the spring, my only hope to get books in was via audiobooks. And the audiobooks for Riordan’s books are on point. They’re basically my go-to audiobooks (along with Harry Potter).

I’ve read a lot of YA so far, and I’ll definitely be reading more across the year (especially because of my Uppercase Box subscription), but I’m also working on branching out. I read Present over Perfect by Shauna Niequist over spring break, and I loved it! So now I have another one of her books (Cold Tangerines) that I’ll be cracking open soon. And I also listened to Lynsey Addario’s memoir (that she narrated herself!) and I. Absolutely. Loved. It. The way she told her story was beautiful, and I was fascinated to hear about all of her experiences as a war photojournalist. I highly recommend this book (and especially the audiobook).

And what does my current reading pile look like? I’m already into some of these, and I’m hoping to get a lot of quality reading in this weekend!

  1. Cold Tangerines, by Shauna Niequist
  2. The Magician King, by Lev Grossman
  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, by J.K. Rowling
  4. Empire of Dust, by Eleanor Herman
  5. Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor, by Rick Riordan

Have you set a reading goal for 2017? What books have you read so far? What are you reading now? 

Leave a Reply

