June Wrap-Up & Goodreads Reading Challenge Update

Well, June’s come to an end (and we’re quite a ways into July), so it’s time to look at the books I’ve read over the past month and check in on my reading challenge!

June was a really productive month for me book-wise. I only read 2 new books, but I re-read 7 books (well, re-listened to. They were all audiobooks).

Without further ado, the books!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I’ve heard a lot about “Fangirl.” My best friend’s been telling me that I needed to read it. It didn’t disappoint! Cath’s dealing with a lot of changes in her life and adapting to being at college and around her twin less, all while trying to keep up with her immensely popular Simon Snow fanfiction. I loved Cath and learning about her story, and I really liked reading the passages from her fanfiction or the Simon Snow books between the chapters. This book drew me in and I enjoyed every second of it.

Whether you enjoy writing (or reading) fanfiction or not, I’d highly recommend this book.

Rating: 5 stars! (and two enthusiastic thumbs up)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

It’s a classic. I love all the Harry Potter books, but Deathly Hallows is right up as one of my faves (along with Azkaban and Order of the Phoenix). I have all the Jim Dale audiobooks, so I putting one on every now and then and immersing myself again in the wonderful wizarding world of Harry Potter.

A Million Worlds with You by Claudia Gray

My friend Brittney (over at Shelf-Righteous Brittney) started reading the Firebird trilogy a month or so ago, and seeing her talk about the series made me want to go through it again. I have all the audiobooks, so I finished the last book of the series this month on some of my longer drives.

I’m still a big fan of this series. The first book is my favorite (and then any time spent in the Russia-verse from there on out), but it’s a solid series all the way through.

Rating: 4 stars

The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan might be my favorite author at the moment (hint: look at how many books by him I’ve read this month. it’s four). I love the mythology he adapts and plays with in his books, and I love his characters.

I re-read Titan’s Curse just for that one dam scene. (If you’ve read the book, you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, then stop reading this and go read the book and come back. Or don’t. It’s your life.)

Rating: 5 stars

The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan*

Yep, another Rick Riordan book. Lately at work I’ve been able to listen to audiobooks for some of the day, but I don’t want anything that would distract me a lot. So I’ve been going with books that I’ve read multiple times (hence all the Riordan books).

Rating: 5 stars

I’m working my way through the Heroes of Olympus series again, which brings me to my next (audio)book…

The Son of NeptunE by Rick Riordan*

Look! Book 2 of the Heroes of Olympus series. What a shocker.

Rating: 5 stars

Wires and Nerve, Vol I by Marissa Meyer, illustrations by Douglas Holgate

Apparently this book has been out for a while, and I just didn’t know it. But I loved reading the Lunar Chronicles, so I was practically bouncing when I found this book a couple weeks ago. I read about the first 100 pages when I discovered it in Barnes & Noble, but then I didn’t buy it that day. I got it from my library about a week later and blew through it (and yes, this one is one of the actual physical books I read in June).

I love the art style, I love that Iko’s the main character, I love how they’re continuing the story, and I NEED THE NEXT ONE. I’m just gonna have to be patient until next year….

If you haven’t read all of the Lunar Chronicles, then don’t read this book yet unless you’re okay with massive spoilers. Wires and Nerve picks up right where the Lunar Chronicles left off.

Rating: 5 stars. Gorgeous art style, loved the storyline.

The Mark of AthenA by Rick Riordan*

If you were concerned cause there was a book written by someone other than Rick Riordan, it’s okay. I listened to The Mark of Athena as well this month! I really enjoy how Riordan’s focusing on different characters more in different books. The Lost Hero was really about Jason, The Son of Neptune about Percy, Mark of Athena about Annabeth, House of Hades about Nico/Hazel, and Blood of Olympus about all of them (but also more about Leo/Reyna). Gah, they’re so good.

Rating: 5 stars (I know, a surprise)

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

Definitely not a surprise. Once I got to The House of Hades with still a week or so left in the month, I decided to try to finish the entire series in June. God bless audiobooks. I didn’t quite make it (I had only like 2 hours left of The Blood of Olympus.). I was so close! But close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades…

Rating: you guessed it! 5 stars.

*this is the second time I’ve read/listened to these books this year

June Goodreads Update

So with these 9 books, that brings my Goodreads count up 33 books so far this year, and I’m apparently still 3 books behind schedule. But I’m catching up! I’m hoping to get more quality reading time in across July.

What did you read across June? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought! Also, if you’ve set a reading goal or challenge for this year, how is yours going?  

Leave a Reply

